About ISSS

The Indian Society of Soil Science (ISSS) came into existence on December 22, 1934 in Calcutta under Act XXI of 1860 (Registration No. 8164/252 of 1934-35) with 28 members. It was formally inaugurated on January 3, 1935 at the Presidency College, Calcutta. Sir Bryce C. Burt, the then Agricultural Commissioner in the Imperial (now Indian) Council of Agricultural Research, was the first President of the Society and Prof. J.N. Mukherjee its first secretary.


Contact Us

Dr. D.R. Biswas
Indian Society of Soil Science

First Floor, National Societies Block,
National Agricultural Science Centre Complex
Dev Prakash Shastri Marg, Pusa
New Delhi 110012, India
Phone: +91-11-25841529, +91-11-25841991
E-mail: isss1934@gmail.com

Latest News

First Announcement.
Voter List 2019.
84th Annual Convention of ISSS will be held during 15-18 November 2019 at the Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh.
83nd Annual Convention of ISSS held at the Anand Agricultural University, Anand during November 27-30, 2018.
Fundamentals of Soil Science, 2009, Price: Rs. 1200/- (Rs. 125/- postage extra) with 25% discount for members and booksellers
New Publication: Soil Science : An Introduction, 2015, Price: Rs. 1600/- (Rs. 125/- postage extra) with 25% discount for members and booksellers

read more


Abstracts of the Anuual Convention

Copyright © Indian Society of Soil Science, India